Pickles & The Hokey Pokey

A Challenge!

  • It’s no use!
  • I give up!
  • WHY does this have to be so hard?
  • I must be doing something wrong!
  • I HATE this!
  • I can’t do this anymore!
  • I’ll never do anything right!

Some time ago while checking my email, I’d received an e-blog with some cool fun facts about pickles… “Mental-Floss” comes up with the most fascinating trivia… Well this post has nothing to do with pickles, but I want to give credit where credit is due. The Pickle Trivia managed to catch my attention!

Those of you, who’ve gotten to know me, know I have a passion for silliness, and for encouraging others to be more positive. At the end of the fascinating trivia about pickles, some of the T-shirts the magazine sells were advertised. One in particular tickled my funny bone, while inspiring a rather fun and comical way of motivating ourselves towards positive thoughts.

Take each of the statements at the top of the page. What do they have in common? Well they’re all rather negative. They’re what we say often times when we get to the point of frustration. Expressing them doesn’t make us feel any better, but there isn’t a turning point that’s mapped out in them either… We’re just done… or are we?

So I know by now, you’re probably wondering how a t-shirt, could possibly have inspired such thinking?

You want to know what it said don’t you? I can hear you, at the edge of your seat… Alright already!! What DID it say?!!!!!

Imagine your next negative thought…. Leading to, of all things… “The Hokey Pokey”… yep, that’s what it’s all about.

The first official meeting of…

“Hokey Pokey Anonymous…”

will now come to order!!!

You put your right foot in,

You put your right foot out,

You put your right foot in and,

You shake it all about….

You do the Hokey Pokey and…

“Hokey Pokey Anonymous… a place to turn yourself around”

That’s the T-shirt.… Pretty inspiring isn’t it?! I can’t help but giggle!! I think I might just have to get that one!! lol

Can you imagine, doing the hokey pokey with each negative… aside from the dizziness, with the right attitude, you’ll be dancing, joyful, feeling light hearted, and maybe even a bit positive… Really how seriously negative can you be doing the hokey pokey…

So come on… let’s give it a try….

You put your right foot in,

You put your right foot out,

You put your right foot in and,

You shake it all about

Give It ALL you’ve Got!

You do the Hokey Pokey and you turn yourself around…

That’s what it’s all about!!

Ahhhhhh I feel better now, don’t you?!

So now I’d like to propose a rather fun challenge. My hope is that this will help turn those negative thoughts around to positive, joy filled thoughts. Will you commit to doing the hokey pokey over the next week or two, when those pesky negative thoughts break into your head?

Caution is advised – Don’t send yourself spinning into a wall or anything! THAT would not be any fun at all!

Oh, just in case you were stuck on the pickle story, I’m including the link.

http://www.mentalfloss.com/blogs/archives/29950

Pickles & The Hokey Pokey – A Challenge
©Sue Anderson, All Rights Reserved 2009 – 2011
An-ders-(S)on-shine, Silliness, Stories, Legends, Laughter, & Love™
It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. Ps.18:32

Protected by Copyscape Online Copyright Protection Software