Your Life – The Greatest Show on Earth 

This past Wednesday (actually several months ago now), I heard that the Ringling Brothers train was parked on the train tracks not far from where I lived. I thought about those childhood stories I’d heard, and maybe even dreamed, about wanting to run away and join the circus. 

Within moments, I was out the door… after that is a few brief phone calls to share my excitement. At one point, I received a call back, asking if I was okay. My friends it appeared had forgotten my sense of humor and were questioning my sanity (or lack thereof). “So there REALLY IS a circus train?” “Yes”, I assured them… I can’t help but chuckle at the memory. I drove to where the train was parked. 

I sat for a few moments once I arrived, trying to figure out what to do next. My goal… to get a picture boarding the train as if I were truly joining the circus. I saw a few cars around, but no people. Eventually two young men emerged and I saw them getting in and out of one of the cars and so I, rather gingerly, approached them. 

So there I was, face to face with a real live circus person. A million and one questions went through my head, all that came out was “Would it be possible to get a picture looking like I was boarding the train”? 

 

The pictures were taken, and I thanked him. Again the million and one questions went through my head, and then the moment was gone as his crew started up the car. I walked back to my car still trying to sort, got in and drove home thinking about all the questions I wanted to ask. 

  • What is life, being in the circus like? 
  • What role do you play?
  • What are the pitfalls or challenges?
  • What are the rewards?
  • What keeps you doing what you do?

Don’t you love farce?
My fault I fear.
I thought that you’d want what I want.
Sorry, my dear.
But where are the clowns?
There ought to be clowns.
Don’t bother, they’re here.
(That would be ME of course!)
 

 
I wonder if you saw your life as “The Greatest Show On Earth” what it might it look like to you? I’m not talking of the 3-ring circus kind of show. I’m talking REAL life, the kind that you and I live each and every day. We each have a gift, an ability to explore, discover, and create. Believing in those gifts and abilities you have within yourself is a key to your wellness. This is what will make YOUR life the Greatest Show on Earth. 

So take a few minutes and think about those questions. 

  • What does this life look like?
  • What role do you play?
  • What are the pitfalls or challenges?
  • What are the rewards?
  • What keeps you doing what you do?
  • What about this life would appeal to others you meet?

Now ask yourself what steps you might take to make even a small piece of that life a reality. 

All ABOARD!!! 

TICKEEEETS!!! 

For the moment, I’m going to dream. The circus is in town til Monday, maybe I’ll see if there’s a chance to get those questions answered I so wanted to ask. Oh to be a clown for a day!! 

Your Life – The Greatest Show on Earth
©Sue Anderson, All Rights Reserved 2009 – 2011
An-ders-(S)on-shine, Silliness, Stories, Legends, Laughter, & Love™
It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. Ps.18:32

Protected by Copyscape Online Copyright Protection Software