REACH FOR THE STARS

Far away there in the sunshine are my highest aspirations. I may not reach them, but I can look up and see their beauty, believe in them, and try to follow where they lead. ~Louisa May Alcott

A few weeks ago I was watching my granddaughter Karina. She loves coming to her Granny’s house because we always have fun together. I remember sometime during her first year, getting down on the floor and playing airplane with her. On our bellies wed be, arms stretched out, feet off the ground, face to face AIRPLANE!!!! With tongues stuck out, wed be off. Brrrrrrrrr- Ptttth. AIRPLANE!!! Brrrrrrrr-pttttth. We never left the ground, but it didn’t stop us or our efforts to fly. AIRPLANE!!! Brrrrrrr-pttttth.

On this particular day a few weeks ago, she wanted to exercise, we ran on our knees, did toe touches, and then it was time to reach for the stars. I thought about that when I wrote this quote on the white board at work, and realized, even though we know we can’t actually touch them, it doesn’t stop our reaching.

As I look back on my life, I see a series of disappointments, frustrations, and roadblocks, obstacles that seemed harder than anything to overcome. Some obstacles linger on, while others have been boldly pushed aside. Not easy tasks mind you.

Those things I have in my mind that still seem difficult to reach dont fade. They remain in my mind as something to reach towards. Things like;

  • Writing a book
  • Owning my own home
  • Making a difference not only in my own life, but in the lives of others
  • Being debt free
  • Taking a cruise
  • Visiting Greece (I just think that would be the neatest place to visit)

These are just a portion of the stars I reach for…  The destinations I long to reach. I’d like to think that someday I’ll reach them all, but the real prize, lies in not giving up, continuing to hope, continuing to reach for the stars despite the roadblocks, disappointments and frustrations that come.

What do you aspire to do? What are those things in your life that you long to do, hope to do? Take a moment, picture if you will that airplane, headed straight for the stars…

As I write this I chuckle and think the thought you might be thinking… I may run out of fuel if I’m truly headed for the stars!! And then what?? Luckily there is such a thing as aerial refueling. A special way of getting fuel to an aircraft that is running out. Likewise, we have one another people in our lives, upon whom we can call on when we run out of fuel for the journey. The hardest part is reaching out.

So, with that in mind once again I ask…  What do you aspire to do? What are those things in your life that you long to do, hope to do? Picture that airplane, headed straight for the stars!!

Reach for the Stars
©Sue Anderson, All Rights Reserved 2009 – 2011
An-ders-(S)on-shine, Silliness, Stories, Legends, Laughter, & Love™
It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. Ps.18:32

Protected by Copyscape Online Copyright Protection Software