Wonder Woman Returns!


Jane Doe, formerly known as Wonder Woman, ponders her reflection in the mirror and cries,

Lord, can’t I trade this for those old pimples?


A glimmer of sweat blends with her graying hair, her once smooth face is covered in wrinkles.  She looks in the mirror and wails,

I don’t WANT to get old!


Jane has just come from seeing her doctor and has learned that she is in the midst of the time all women dread MENOPAUSE!  Studying her reflection one last time, she yells,

I’d rather be saving the world!

Readying herself for what seems her millionth shower of the day, she looks down and studies her sagging body and gives a grunt of disgust before bursting into tears…  Behind the curtain, in between suds, sobs, and hiccups she struggles to sing,

I’ve gotta be me, I’VE gotta be meeee
What else can I be but what I am
 


Jane reaches for her towel and gasps, Wonder Woman’s cape in hand, she pokes her head out and a strangled cry escapes her lips,

SUPERMAN!!!!
WHAT are YOU doing here?
And do you MIND, I need some PR-R-RIVACY!!


Superman points in the direction of her living room and says I’ll be out there.

After dressing quickly, Jane does a little twirl. Wonder Woman takes a quick peek in the mirror before joining Superman.  Hands on hips, she says,

WHAT is the meaning of this?
WHY are you here?
What in the world is going on? 
I thought we agreed I was DONE!


Superman looks embarrassed and says, “This is one I don’t know how to handle… Women across the world are struggling as they get older. They’re falling into some sort of depression after visiting their doctors.  You are a woman and, no offence here but you’re also getting older. Surely you can help them, offer a bit of encouragement much better than I?”

Wonder Woman reflects back on her day and bows her head thanking God for her own experiences, for giving her a renewed sense of purpose and for this somewhat wonderful gift. She gathers up her soapbox full of Kleenex while vowing to recognize and remember her limits before heading out, her favorite song on her lips…

Whether I’m right or whether I’m wrong
Whether I find a place in this world or never belong
I gotta be me, I’ve gotta be me
What else can I be but what I am


Wonder Woman Returns!
©Sue Anderson, All Rights Reserved 2008 – 2011
An-ders-(S)on-shine, Silliness, Stories, Legends, Laughter, & Love™
It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. Ps.18:32

Protected by Copyscape Online Copyright Protection Software