You! Magnificent, Amazing, You!

When you look at that title, I wonder, what your thoughts are. Care to share? I know for many of my younger years I felt anything but magnificent, or amazing words like that just DID not fit what I was taught, by my Mom anyway.

My Dad on the other hand always believed in me. He was my cheerleader, the one person I could almost always count on to soothe my ruffled feathers except of course when he was scolding me for something or another. Usually it was for getting into the Ho-Ho’s, or the Twinkies that my mom had stashed away for his lunch. (Yes indeed, I come by my sweet tooth honestly!!)

Even though I knew my Dad believed in me, it really bothered me that my Mom did not. Her favorite word you see was stupid. Oh how I learned to dislike that word!!  It always has a tendency to make me cringe,even  still to this day.

A couple of weeks ago, I was talking with my therapist about my fear of letting go of certain things, many of which are papers that Ive saved over the years for one reason or another. There are certain things, no matter how hard Id tried, I found VERY difficult to dispose of. During the course of our conversation she picked up a statement Id made regarding getting rid of these things I may need to prove someday x, y, z.

When she brought this to my attention how often Id said that in this, and previous sessions, she asked why I felt that need to prove something I fumbled for a minute, and then it hit me. Old childhood scars that I thought were long since healed still haunted me. Holding onto things, was a way to prove I wasnt stupid, that I’d made the right decisions, etc. to whomever,whenever, whatever the case might be.

A pile of papers that Id been holding onto for years, left my house last Sunday. It wasnt easy, and I’m still struggling with whether or not I did the right thing, but the funny thing is since then, I’ve felt a bit more motivated to make a bigger impact. And I aim to!!

Thinking about this, I think about the messages we may have heard as children, and not really thought much of, but if leave them be, we will never truly see the possibilities, the choices, or the strengths we have within ourselves, and give them free rein.

I’ve recognized over the last several years that one of my strengths is in writing. The other day I was told, Im waiting for your book to come out. I was humbled, inspired, and awed all at the same time.

There are things we each enjoy doing. If you were to look at those things,  could you see them as one or more of your strengths? If someone encouraged you to pursue those things, what might your life be like? What hidden miracles are within you waiting to be discovered?

One thing I’ve learned is that if I dont believe in myself, in my abilities, my strengths, etc., HOW can I expect others to?  There can be miracles when you believe.

Take a moment to look within, and try to discover what those abilities and strengths you have. What would it take for you to believe you can achieve your hearts desire? Perhaps, like me it starts with believing in yourself?

If you’re able, listen to the song When You Believe by Celtic Woman as you take that look within.

You! Magnificent, Amazing, You!
©Sue Anderson, All Rights Reserved 2010 – 2011
An-ders-(S)on-shine, Silliness, Stories, Legends, Laughter, & Love™
It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. Ps.18:32

Protected by Copyscape Online Copyright Protection Software