Silence is Golden

“The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.” ~Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.~

Many nights when I get home from work, I find myself relaxing in front of the computer. Last night I decided to do something a little different. Instead of going home, I decided to take myself to a movie, just me, myself, and I.

Ive always enjoyed doing that, and used to make time for watching movies on a regular basis. I can count on one hand the number of times Ive watched TV or have gone to see a movie over the last several months.

I enjoyed the movie immensely and after returning home decided to check my email, which then led me to my blog, which then caused me to stumble upon a blog entitled Finding Sanity in Silence. http://cactuswrangler.com/2010/05/27/finding-sanity-in-silence/

One of the challenges the author Beth Terry posed was to STOP.” “Resting” in 21st century terms means turn off the TV, radio, computer, iPod, iPad, cell phone, stereo, DVD ~ and go do NOTHING. Yes. NOTHING. Activity is not necessarily always better. We have a 4 day weekend in front of us. Will you take time for YOU and allow yourself to sit in silence and just BE?”

I have to tell you, As much as NEEDED to hear them, I had a difficult time with those words. And so I responded to her blog. While reading the response she sent back moments later, an old song started playing through my mind. Silence is Golden. I was tempted to go look up the song, but the little voice in the back of my head was cautioning me to heed the advice given, and step away from the computer.

This morning however, I found myself thinking about those words I’d read last night, and that song. The chorus was what I found most applicable.

Silence is golden, but my eyes still see
Silence is golden, golden, but my eyes still see

This weekend, Im determined to take at least 10 minutes each day, after Ive gotten out of bed and heed the call to do nothing. Skip the books, turn off the phones, and the computer, and allow myself to sit in silence in my favorite green chair, and just be.

I wonder what my eyes and most especially my heart, might see during this. I might have to pick up some earplugs, to shut out the neighboring noise, but Im thinking it will be an interesting experiment, one that I might find myself determined to continue on a daily basis.

What about you? What would 10 minutes of total silence accomplish for you? Care to join me on this experiment Im determined to try? Are you up for the challenge?

Silence is Golden
©Sue Anderson, All Rights Reserved 2010 – 2011
An-ders-(S)on-shine, Silliness, Stories, Legends, Laughter, & Love™
It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. Ps.18:32

Protected by Copyscape Online Copyright Protection Software