It’s the Little Things That Count

 Joy is the will which labors, which overcomes obstacles, which knows triumph. ~William Butler Yeats 

Yesterday I was reminded of some little things that bring me joy. 

· Hot Chocolate
· Dancing
· More Chocolate 🙂
· Singing
· Spending time with friends and family 

As I drove to work this morning, I noticed a little girl around 10 or 12 running along side her Mother who was in a wheelchair, (at least I imagine it was her Mother). I couldn’t help but notice the look of joy they both had on their faces. Mom’s chair was not electric, the fact that her daughter had to run to keep up with her as Mom spun those wheels struck me with amazement, awe, and a deep feeling of joy for them both. What they had, was priceless. 

Often times we look so hard, and so long at the obstacles we find ourselves in the midst of, we sometimes forget to take a little time out for what I like to call “Joy breaks”.  Joy is something that helps give us the will to overcome our obstacles so that in the end, we triumph over them.  I’m sure I don’t have to tell you that sometimes this is easier said than done. 

Yet when we look at the time we spend alone… gazing out the window, or wondering what on earth to do, we can easily be overcome with a feeling of boredom. 

“Boredom before the fact is just a defense against enthusiasm.” ~Robert Bly 

Last week I was asked to bring some “fun activities” to an afternoon retreat. Since this group focused on mental health, I decided for one of the fun activities that we’d play “Mental Health Recovery Bingo”, and so I stopped on my way to pick up a few fun prizes which included, Hula Hoops, Hand Clappers, Silly String, and Gigantic Bright Orange Sunglasses. I also brought along a couple of my favorite karaoke songs and my little mini karaoke machine. (Of course I could NOT forget my Pom-Poms) 

As I wrote this, I couldn’t help but chuckle at the memory of these people who have become so very dear to me, dancing, & singing, while enjoying their prizes… And Yes, Just for the Record, that DID include hula-hooping!! I even loaned my pom-poms out…. The only thing I didn’t see was the silly string flying (Probably a GOOD thing!!) 

This was an afternoon that I found a lot of joy in, not only because of the enjoyment I saw that came from my contribution, but moreso because as soon as I walked in, I heard the music this group had gathered in a circle to make. It wasn’t anything fancy, a variety of drums, shakers, and other musical pieces, with everyone playing at their own pace, and yet it lightened and lifted the clouds I’d felt just moments before. 

Joy can be found in a variety of ways, so take some time to think about, and make a list of those things that bring YOU joy. Then challenge yourself to take at LEAST 10 minutes a day for a joy break, I can almost guarantee it’ll lighten your spirits. 

It’s The Little Things That Count
©Sue Anderson, All Rights Reserved 2010 – 2011
An-ders-(S)on-shine, Silliness, Stories, Legends, Laughter, & Love™
It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. Ps.18:32