Held Fast, Cradled In The Palm of His Hand

I’m not a regular watcher of “The Ellen Degeneres show”.  I do however admire her humor, spunk, and zest for life, as well as the sensitivity and compassion she shows as she addresses the tough issues. I would not be one to live the life that is under attack in this video. There is NO excuse for such cruelty on another person. Not one!!

An Important Message from Ellen Degeneres

I can’t begin to describe how I felt when I saw this,…. Shocked, Saddened, Humbled, Alarmed & Compassionate, are a few words that spring to mind. As I wrestled with the emotions that surfaced, I thought of my own children, my grandchildren, and those who are near and dear to me, and found myself writing as I picture each victim of such cruelty Held Fast, Cradled in the Mighty Hand of God, Safe, Secure, and Free at last!

Senseless bullying resulting in death is no laughing matter. Each person on this earth is different in some way shape or form. It’s best, in my opinion, to embrace our differences, as well as our similarities, and to recognize the contributions we ALL have the ability to make in society. Ultimately, rather than tearing one another down, we ought to encourage and empower one another to be all we were each meant and designed to be.

Mark 12:30-31
“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.
‘The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.”

Exodus 20:13
“Thou shalt not kill.”

Luke 6:37 -38
“Do not judge, and you will not be judged.
Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned.
Forgive, and you will be forgiven.
Give, and it will be given to you.
A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap.
For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

To those who have nearly lost their lives to senseless acts of brutality of any type and to the families of those who have nearly lost a loved one to such acts, I pray that you find peace and comfort in the words below:

Psalm 56
“Be merciful to me, O God, for men hotly pursue me;
all day long they press their attack.

My slanderers pursue me all day long;
many are attacking me in their pride.

When I am afraid, I will trust in you.
In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust;
I will not be afraid. What can mortal man do to me?

All day long they twist my words;
they are always plotting to harm me.

They conspire, they lurk, they watch my steps, eager to take my life.
On no account let them escape; in your anger, O God, bring down the nations.

Record my lament; list my tears on your scroll – are they not in your record?
Then my enemies will turn back when I call for help.

By this I will know that God is for me.
In God, whose word I praise, in the LORD, whose word I praise-
in God I trust; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?

I am under vows to you, O God;
I will present my thank offerings to you.
For you have delivered me from death and my feet from stumbling,
that I may walk before God in the light of life.”

ESPECIALLY for those who have lost a loved one, know that God, and God alone judges those who have acted so brutally. I pray you find comfort and healing in the words of Isaiah 49 as written in “The Message” version of the Bible;

“I’d never forget you—never.

Look, I’ve written your names on the backs of my hands.
The walls you’re rebuilding are never out of my sight.

Your builders are faster than your wreckers.
The demolition crews are gone for good.

Look up, look around, look well!”

Wishing each of you peace in the days ahead,

Held Fast, Cradled in the Palm of His Hand
©Sue Anderson, All Rights Reserved 2010 – 2011
An-ders-(S)on-shine, Silliness, Stories, Legends, Laughter, & Love™
It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. Ps.18:32