It’s 2 am, I’m awake, and the word that keeps nagging at my brain DESPITE my desire for sleep is WRITE!

Inwardly I question; and WHAT pray tell am I going to write about at 2 o’clock in the morning? The words to a song burst into my mind…

It’s 2 o’clock in the morning dammit
Listen to me good

I can’t help but chuckle at the inner workings of my brain. Part of me wants to search for the song and see if it actually says “2’oclock in the morning” in the lyrics, or 3; My brain protests, “Don’t bother, It’s a moot point, you’re up, and writing, who cares what time the song really says it is?!!”

Thinking about it, I realize as in most times I write,
• I have no idea where this post is going,
• Since I have no idea where it’s going, there isn’t yet a title
• I’m certain by the time I’m finished, there WILL be a title
• I’m doing good just going with the flow

I wonder, at this moment, how many other souls experience this sort of random slaying of sleep, driven by the need to express SOMETHING, but not exactly sure WHAT that something is?

A memory assails me suddenly, of sleepover days gone by when, invariably my friends & I would find ourselves talking til all hours of the morning. I wonder if something similar is behind this middle of the night need to write; the urge to express something to someone, just because you have an ear. The words to another song burst into my mind…

Lend me your ear and I’ll sing you a song
And I’ll try not to sing out of key,
Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends
I get high with a little help from my friends

Writing, it appears, is my drug of choice, those who know me would also say I babble pretty good as well; insert eye roll here! Lol
What IS IT about the way we express ourselves at any given moment in time that has the capacity to touch another life? Some touch another’s life in a way that is not good, while others touch lives in ways that provoke thought, inspire, encourage, and empower; The latter being the one that I always hope to do.

Momentarily, at a loss for words, I ponder this thought, and wonder how this ties into what I’m writing…. Somewhere in there is a meaning…. Now if I could just put two and two together, I just MIGHT be able to go back to sleep in the blink of an eye. Ha!

Is it the connection between the proverbial high of writing, vs the high of drugs or alcohol? I’ve been one of the strong people who have not fallen into the latter vice. Whenever the subject comes up in conversation the usual response is “NEVER? REALLY? NOT EVEN ONCE??” My answer for some reason boggles the questioning mind! I feel blessed in that regard, and well I should.

Truth be told, I have a rather healthy respect for alcohol, as I’ve seen up close how it can affect a persons judgment, or lack thereof, and how it affects those closest to the inebriated. I watched my Mom a few times to many stagger around, heard the slur of words, and thought, no, I do NOT want to follow in her footsteps.

Well, this post has been quite a rambling one! I had written more, and my computer, must have had a problem with it, because this is all that was auto-saved TWICE in so short a time thanks to Windows Updates!!

That question I pondered earlier still gnaws at my brain. I wonder how others write. Do they, like me, start with something and see where it takes them? Do they know the instant they sit down to write, what the topic will be? Is it a little of both?

What’s your writing process like?

The Inner Ramblings of a Brain on WRITE!
©Sue Anderson, I.T.E
Certifiably Silly & Positively Amazing TOO!
An-ders-(S)on-shine, Silliness, Stories, Legends, Laughter & Love™
“By perseverance the snail reached the ark.” ~C.H. Spurgeon