Not long ago, my husband Art and I were having a conversation about distractions. During said conversation he had we got onto the topic of diversity and how often times, we are expected to be accepting of everyone, while squelching our beliefs. He told me about an instance where a new hire from another country had started working with them right around Christmas time. In his teams quest to be inclusive, they hadn’t decorated the office for Christmas because they didn’t want to make her uncomfortable. As it turned out she LOVED Christmas and all that went with it.

I wondered in that moment, WHY? Why is it okay for every other culture to be accepted but not okay for our own? When did it become unacceptable to in an inclusive environment, exclude our Creator? How can we co-exist in a world that wants to exclude the very nature of our being here.

I am perhaps one of the most accepting folks. I don’t deny anyone the right to choose their walk, even if that walk doesn’t align with mine. I respect others view points, beliefs and differences. I am not okay with squelching my beliefs however. Is this new? Is this something that’s been going on for years? How does the distracted Christian then, gain traction in re-aligning themselves in the way God intended, while being His hands and feet to those around us, in the most loving, accepting way in this vast world of differences?

Thoughts?

©Sue Anderson
Certifiably Silly & Positively Amazing TOO!
By perseverance the snail reached the ark. ~C.H. Spurgeon